Quest on possible EU ban on US travelers: It's embarrassing

The EU will reopen its borders – but probably not to Americans

The diplomats, who were not allowed to discuss the issue before the EU’s 27 member states have reached an agreement, have confirmed to CNN that EU governments have been given until lunchtime Tuesday to agree on a list of 15 countries allowed entry.

On the proposed list of 15 nations is China, where the virus originated. However, the EU will only offer China entry on the condition of reciprocal arrangements. The other 14 countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay.

As has been widely expected, the US – where the coronavirus is currently recovering – will not be on that list.

The list is included in a set of recommendations from the EU Council to member states, which sets out the criteria for countries to meet before their nationals are allowed entry to the bloc and the methodology for meeting that criteria. This requires that countries allowed entry have coronavirus infection rates equal to or better than the EU.

Border control is ultimately decided by each member state rather than at an EU level in Brussels. But EU officials hope that there are recommendations in place that member states will reopen their borders in lockstep.

Europe closed its external border in March after the bloc saw its Covid-19 infection rates grow exponentially.

The US now has the highest number of confirmed infections and the highest number of deaths caused by Covid-19 of any country in the world, according to the Johns Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center.

The diplomats said it was “highly unlikely” that the framework would be changed any time soon, which would mean a dramatic turnaround is required in the US ‘infection rate if it is to be considered in any future decision. The EU is expected to review the decision every two weeks.

Member states are expected to approve the list and the guidelines by a qualified majority on Tuesday, rather than by a unanimous decision.

A qualified majority requires that 15 of the 27 member states vote in favor. The guidelines are expected to be opaque and open to interpretation in some areas, as at least three member states have expressed reluctance to open borders at all, the diplomats said.

EU officials have been quick to point out that decisions on who can and cannot enter the bloc are not political, but based on science that allows member states to keep their citizens safe. Those officials are nevertheless bracing for the reaction of US President Donald Trump, who has previously said very important things about the EU and may see the decision as politically motivated.

However, as another EU diplomat previously explained to CNN, “For sure, you can see not being on the list as something political, when one country is allowed in and another is not,” but insisted that “it is only ever about health.”